I care not . . .

jean-bernard-restout-les-plaisirs-danacreon

I care not for the wealth of Gyges the King of Sardis, nor does gold take me captive, and I praise not tyrants. I care to drench my beard with scent and crown my head with roses. I care for to-day ; who knows to-morrow?

Text: Anacreon (c.582 – c.485 BC), The Greek Anthology XI:47 translated by W. R. Paton. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 1918
Image: Jean-Bernard Restout (1732 – 1797), Les plaisirs d’Anacréon, date and location unknown

Leave a Reply

