Happy Birthday Chuck




Today Chuck Berry is 87 and still touring the world. Decades of desultory performance and dodgy behaviour may have damaged his reputation, but no one living has a better claim to be the inventor of rock and roll music than the man from Missouri. One of the first records I ever owned was a Best of Chuck Berry LP given to me by my mother, and I listened to it until those classic songs, ‘Johnny B. Goode’, ‘Maybellene’, ‘Roll Over Beethoven’, and of course ‘Rock and Roll Music’, were indelibly etched into my brain. I suggest a ceremonial duck walk in homage to an icon of popular culture and a true living legend.

Charles Edward Anderson Berry, born October 18, 1926

Leave a Reply

