Portrait of Diaghilev


“I am first a charlatan, but full of dash; secondly, a great charmer; thirdly, cheeky; fourthly, a very reasonable man with few scruples; fifthly, someone afflicted, it seems, with a complete absence of talent. And yet I think I have found my true vocation: to be a patron of the arts. For that I have everything I need except money…”

2 Responses to “Portrait of Diaghilev”

  1. Angelica Says:

    Hi there, I was wondering where you found this quotation? I am currently writing a thesis on Diaghilev and cannot seem to find the citation of the quotation anywhere! Thanks, Angelica

    • Dylan Thomas Hayden Says:

      It’s from a letter Diaghilev wrote to his stepmother. I have found it quoted, in a slightly different translation, in John Percival, “The World of Diaghilev”, p.12.

Leave a Reply

